Call us on: +44 (0)7899974546

Testimonials

Write a review of Willow Cottage
Fill in our special form and tell us about your holiday.
willow Overall rating: ★★★★★ 5 based on 19 reviews
5 1

Excellent

★★★★★
5 5 1
For the second time we booked our holiday at Hamptons farmhouse. And again it was great! The cosy cottages, the hospitality of the owners and their children, the wonderful gardens around the cottages, it is an oasis! Our children loved playing around or visit one of the many parks and castles. We will return again!

Willow Cottage is a delight

★★★★★
5 5 1
Willow Cottage is a delight ... Clean and well equipped. It was nice to have items such as bread, butter, jam and wine ... Oh, and chocolates ... In the cottage when we arrived. Katie and Andy were terrific hosts ... Andy very kindly gave a tour of the property and was available to assist with any question or with tour advice. Speaking of which, the Welcome to Willow Cottage notebook was an excellent guide to local activities from shopping, to castles, to pubs, to the farm itself ... It is the best such guide we have ever seen in our travels and we particularly loved that Andy and Katie had included personalized comments regarding the places to eat and attractions ... Very helpful and much appreciated. While the farm caters to families - and we have no children traveling with us - the cottage and surrounding farm were peaceful and we welcomed the relaxing surroundings during our week long stay.

Heavenly!

★★★★★
5 5 1
We returned to Willow Cottage again for a second time having thoroughly enjoyed our holiday last year. We were not disappointed. God provided us with beautiful weather and the Tanswell's provided us a beautiful holiday. We were very warmly welcomed with presents (chocolate, wine etc.) and a thoroughly equipped cottage and grounds. Willow cottage may be small but it is kitted out beautifully as it would be for a much loved relative(e.g.thick towels, lovely bedding and crockery etc.) . The grounds are fantastic with an abundance of places for children to play, plus there were baby rabbits, sheep and chickens too when we were there. The kids loved it. We are planning to return again!

Excellent Choice for us

★★★★★
5 5 1
We are now into our 4th week, 2 more to go. Willow Cottage for us was an excellent choice in waiting for our new home in Shoreham Kent to be completed. The cottage is comfortable, cleaned throughout and linen change once a week. During half term our grandkids came to stay, 12 and 9 enjoyed the farm collecting eggs, feeding chickens, sheep and play areas immensely, using a boat on the pond, climbing the excellent tree houses.. Good walks, pubs, places of interest on your doorstep. Owners, Andy and Katie ( who is very Kool !!!) are helpful, friendly, on hand for any problem, or advice. We would have loved to have stayed even longer, but unfortunately for us all the cottages are booked.

Cosy, well-equipped cottage with stunning views

★★★★★
5 5 1
We honestly can\\\'t say enough about how much we adored the cottage and our stay. The overall exterior and interior of the cottage are picturesque and instantly made us feel at home. When we arrived at the cottage we were very warmly greeted and spoilt with some very thoughtful token food and drink items. \r\n\r\nThe cottage itself is more well equipped then we could have imagined; we packed well, intending to have a peaceful and relaxing stay, yet we returned many of our own items to the car as everything we could have needed was already supplied. The grounds surrounding the cottage are stunning and also, well equipped for whatever mood you may be in. We spent many a night sitting on the swinging bench, overlooking the rolling views and watching the sunset with a glass of wine in our hand - how wonderful. We then spent some days relaxing in the garden, to the sounds of only the birds and nearby animals. We also had a few rounds of table tennis, which made for a fun stay. To top it all, each evening, after either cooking a home cooked meal or popping to a nearby pub for dinner, we slept as soundly as babies in the luxurious bedding, which certainly made it difficult to get up in the morning. \r\n\r\nEven though the weather was very English during our stay, this did not matter one inch; we came for a peaceful stay, some time out away from the bustle of the city lights and traffic and that is exactly what we got. \r\n\r\nWe were incredibly sad to leave and will certainly be coming back at every opportunity. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience Andy and Kate; we couldn\\\'t have asked for more.

Wunderschöner Urlaub 🙂

★★★★★
5 5 1
Unsere Gastgeber kann man nur mit der Note \\\"Sehr Gut! bewerten. Das herzliche Willkommen mit vielen leckeren Sachen war wunderbar, man hat sich direkt wohl gefühlt. Das Cottage ist sehr schön und liebevoll eingerichtet und lässt keine Wünsche offen. Vom Dosenöffner bis zum \\\"Henry\\\" (das ist der lachende Staubsauger) alles vorhanden.\r\nSehr empfehlenswert, auch für Urlaub ohne Kinder. Wir kommen wieder!!!!

Willow Cottage is a charming conversion

★★★★★
5 5 1
We stayed at Willow Cottage in May 2014 for a week and had a much needed relaxing break. We received a genuinely friendly welcome from our hosts Katie and Andrew who very obviously enjoy sharing their lovely property with their guests. Willow Cottage is a charming conversion fully equipped with all and more to make for an enjoyable stay – even comfortable pillows – wonderful!! The welcome pack of provisions was so thoughtful with delicious treats. It was a pleasure to return to the cottage after busy days visiting national trust properties and gardens – Kent has the best! To relax in the tranquil garden in the evening was pure heaven. Although just myself and my husband visited this time, we intend to return next year with our grand-daughter (if we manage to get booked!) as she will have the time of her life with all that’s on offer for children at Hamptons farmhouse. Thank you again Katie and Andrew and we wish you and your delightful family a fabulous summer.

Very nice, clean, all equipment, beautiful garden

★★★★★
5 5 1
We had a wonderful week in willow cottage. All the lovely interior and the flowers in every room made us feel welcome and very much at home. We enjoyed having breakfasts outside, sitting under the old trees, watching birds and rabbits and the sunsets.The kids loved to play in the big garden even after our days out in London. Thanks Andy and Katie for this great stay!\r\nJune 2014

Onvergetelijk!

★★★★★
5 5 1
Een werkelijk onovertreffelijke vakantie! Met onze twee meisjes van 3 en 5 hebben wij tien dagen genoten van ons verblijf in Willow cottage. Het huisje was supercompleet met een goed uitgeruste keuken. Daarnaast was het landgoed een eldorado met heel veel zitjes, picknickplekken, speelgelegenheden voor de kinderen, prachtig uitzicht. Het was werkelijke een sprookje om hier te zijn. De eigenaren Katie en Andy deden er alles aan om het ons zo comfortabel mogelijk te maken, wat een heerlijk relaxte sfeer was het hier. En wat ook erg prettig was: alle bezienswaardigheden en attracties waren vaak binnen een half uur rijden bereikbaar. Dit was een childfriendly, maar zeker ook een adult-friendly holiday!

Gorgeous- A beautiful countryside haven!

★★★★★
5 5 1
Our 7year old and 4 year old were begging to come home from days out each day so that they could play in the beautiful extensive grounds of the cottage. They loved the zip wire, car and trampoline and we loved the blue bell woods. It was so relaxing!\r\nWe are are hoping to return!\r\n

Perfect location

★★★★★
5 5 1
Perfect location for london and to explore kent. Cottage was perfect very clean and modern. Andrew and Katie were very helpful and made our time there even better. The kids loved the open area and playing and feeding the chicken and sheep.\r\nOnce again, Andrew, thank you for your help

The best family holiday cottage we have ever seen

★★★★★
5 5 1
The cottage has been cleverly and beautifully converted. It is superbly well appointed and extremely comfortable. making it feel pleasingly spacious and light. The surrounding grounds are wonderful, full of enchanting delights, especially for little ones but also for adults. The trampoline, caravan, tennis court and child\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s car are all fabulous fun. And the setting is glorious, in stunning Kent countryside with superb views over the Bourne valley. The owners and their family are hugely welcoming and generous, making guests feel very relaxed. This is the best family holiday cottage we have ever seen. Strongly recommended.

Wunderbar

★★★★★
5 5 1
Unsere Gastgeber kann man nur mit der Note \\\"Sehr Gut! bewerten. Das herzliche Willkommen mit vielen leckeren Sachen war wunderbar, man hat sich direkt wohl gefühlt. Das Cottage ist sehr schön und liebevoll eingerichtet und lässt keine Wünsche offen. Vom Dosenöffner bis zum \\\"Henry\\\" (das ist der lachende Staubsauger) alles vorhanden.\r\nSehr empfehlenswert, auch für Urlaub ohne Kinder. Wir kommen wieder!!!!

hamptons

★★★★★
5 5 1
Most charming and wonderful country cottage, very nice family in the main house to welcome you : I highly recommend staying at Hamptons farm !

Forget your ipad. We are coming back.

★★★★★
5 5 1
We enjoyed our stay at willow cottage very much, if you’re looking for a place to relax from your everyday city life, this is the place to be. For the children it’s an outdoor playground on a very large, almost adventurous scale (big enough to let them forget the ipad or Nintendo), for the parents it’s a romantic and quiet setting and knowing that your children are safe and busy, helps you to unwind.\r\n\r\nLondon, Windsor, Legoland are nearby but who needs that when you can stay at Hamptons Farmhouse?\r\n\r\nNow don’t you all start booking this place because we want to come back as well, but yes we loved it!\r\n\r\nRobert & Anne, the Netherlands\r\n

Family Friendly

★★★★★
5 5 1
We can tell you genuinely enjoy hosting holidaymakers. you\\\'ve been so friendly, providing us with all the information we could wish for. Willow cottage is very comfortable, well equipped with everything we needed, even including a European electricity plug!\r\n\r\nwe very much appreciated the welcome package, thanks for that. And for sharing your beautiful home with the lovely gardens. It truly is a family friendly, welcoming, tranquil and peaceful, yet happy place!\r\n\r\nGijs (3 1/2 yrs) has had the time of his life driving the mini-jeep and playing in the gardens. He loved picking blackberries and apples. \r\n\r\nWe loved the Kentish countryside with its castles (Hever, Leeds, Knole), friendly towns (Sevenoaks, Tunbridge Wells). We enjoyed teh Vintage Bus tour of Sevenoaks (park at Knole £4) and did some nice shopping for children\\\'s clothes in the town. \r\n\r\nDriving on the left side of the read is less difficult than we feared and we enjoyed the country lanes with all the nice houses. It was a week well spent, and we plan to come back in the future.

Lovely Time

★★★★★
5 5 1
We had a lovely time staying at your cottage, it was good to have somewhere\r\nlovely to go to at the end of a busy day. Also, thank you for the groceries\r\nyou left, it was very thoughtful.\r\n

A delightful country cottage

★★★★★
5 5 1
We spent a week at Hamptons Farm staying in Willow Cottage and can thoroughly recommend it. The cottage is very well equipped with everything needed to make your holiday comfortable and easy, and the hosts Katie & Andrew are friendly and very willing to help. The cottage was in excellent condition, spotlessly clean and all the fixtures are high spec. We found plenty of variety in the area for country walks, eating out and sight-seeing. We also enjoyed outings to Sevenoaks and Tunbridge Wells. But most of all we enjoyed the opportunity to just relax in the lovely and extensive gardens. There are also lots of child friendly activities on the farm well suited to family holidays. The wine and fresh provisions were an added bonus and made us feel very welcome. Sue & Andrew (retired couple from Australia)

Soul Calming Stay

★★★★★
5 5 1
I stayed 4 nights at Andy and Katie\\\'s place and enjoyed it immensely. Although the cottage is hundreds of years old, the interior is brand new, very comfortable and fully equipped (including the kitchen). We made long walks through the countryside which is immensely beautiful, rustic, full of wildlife, and with an enjoyable sprinkling of welcoming pubs at comfortable intervals. Although part of a charming old farm, the cottage is totally private. Whilst I was alone this time (on business), I\\\'ll definitely come back with the family: with lots of space to run around the kids will enjoy the tree house, the animals (horses, chickens, sheep), the gipsy caravan, zipline and the camp fire at night!

Write a review of Stable Cottage
Fill in our special form and tell us about your holiday.
stable Overall rating: ★★★★★ 5 based on 25 reviews
5 1

Perfect family hideaway

★★★★★
5 5 1
We would highly recommend this property for any young family looking for a week away in Kent. Well provisioned and an extremely clean property with very friendly hosts that strike the right balance between being hospitable and letting you get on with things. Our 16 month old loved all the play equipment. Plenty to do nearby and easy access to local amenities. We will be going back!

Great Find

★★★★★
5 5 1
Hamptons Farmhouse was a great find. We felt instantly relaxed and the grounds were fantastic for children - lots of play equipment and outside space to run around in, and in a lovely setting. We loved the camp fire, and hope to visit again in better weather so that we can enjoy the facilities even more. Several child friendly places to visit nearby. Would recommend.

★★★★★
5 5 1
This was our second holiday here and we enjoyed it even more than last year. The kids had campfires, the zip wire, treehouse, baby rabbits and the rowing boats to enjoy (as did we!). The cottage is nicely furnished with stunning views past the chickens sunbathing on the doorstep, past the willow tree and onto the rolling Kentish countryside. The family who live here are extremely welcoming and friendly. Fantastic!

Beyond expectations

★★★★★
5 5 1
“Beyond expectations” The property was cosy and clean. The interior decoration is cleverly made. All the needed documentation is present. The location is excellent, it is possible to directly use the footpaths from the property. We often used it. It was very pleasant to take a walk in the very large garden. Children often used the trampoline. Children also appreciated to pet the rabbits next to the cottage. The owners were welcoming and it was very pleasant to discuss with them. We plan to come back next year...

★★★★★
5 5 1
Stable Cottage in Kent vacanza indimenticabile!” I dont' know if it's better to write in french or in italian, my family live in Brussels and we are franch/italian speaking!Anyway it was a fantastic holiday.... Questa brave settimana è stata troppo corta, poichè contiamo ritornarci, per visitare ancora Londra, che non è tanto lontana, in treno, il resto del Kent, (detto il giardino dell'Inghilterra) e perchè no anche la costa.Per quanto riguarda l'accoglienza e la pulizia del cottage niente da ridire, il giardino, che è in effetti, un parco, è l'ideale per bambini piccoli e grandi con tente attività da sfruttare, tutto è andato nel migliore dei modi, il tempo era in più dalla nostra parte!!!Ed anche la traversata Calais/Dover è stata perfetta!!!Da rifare in compagnia di amici, visto che hanno altri 2 cottage vicino!

“Schöne FeWo und guter Ausgangpunkt!”

★★★★★
5 5 1
Wir haben eine Woche zur Osterzeit in Stable Cottage verbracht und können die Unterkunft praktisch uneingeschränkt empfehlen. Wir hatten uns bewusst für eine Unterkunft auf dem Land entschieden, und unsere Erwartungen wurden voll erfüllt. Das Grundstück ist riesig und bietet vielfältige Spielmöglichkeiten für Kinder verschiedenen Alters. Stable Cottage ist zwar nicht riesig, aber auch zu fünft (2 Erwachsene, 3 Kinder) kamen wir gut zu recht. Die Einrichtung ist modern und geschmackvoll. Alles war sehr sauber und in gutem Zustand. Katie und Andy sind äußerst freundlich und hilfsbereit, so dass wir uns aus auch in dieser Sicht wohl gefühlt haben. Die Duschtherme ist etwas gewöhnungsbedürftig. Wir haben auch ein wenig gebraucht, bis wir die Raumtemperatur für uns passend eingestellt hatten, haben aber auch nicht gefragt, wie es am besten geht. Einkaufsmöglichkeiten sind zwar praktisch nur mit dem Auto zu erreichen, aber in der Regel dürfte man Kent wohl ohnehin vornehmlich mit Auto bereisen. Das Informationsmaterial, das die Gastgeber zusammengestellt haben, ist äußerst nützlich und geht weit über das hinaus, was man üblicherweise in Ferienwohnungen/Ferienhäusern vorfindet. Auch als Ausgangspunkt für Unternehmungen ist die Unterkunft ein guter Standort. Es gibt viel Sehenswertes im Umkreis von ca. 30 Minuten, und wir fanden den Westen von Kent landschaftlich auch noch etwas reizvoller als den Osten. Alles in allem aus unserer Sicht sehr empfehlenswert.

Sehr empfehlenswertes Häuschen!

★★★★★
5 5 1
Wir verbrachten eine herrliche Zeit in diesem toll hergerichteten Cottage. Beginnend mit einem herzlichen und warmen Empfang samt Willkommenspaket hatten wir einen rundum angenehmen Aufenthalt. Das Cottage war sauber, gepflegt, liebevoll eingerichtet und vor allem in einem für Kinder idealen Areal. Unsere Töchter liebten die Schafe, Hasen und Hühner und es war natürlich ein tolles Erlebnis für sie, auf dem umgebauten Heuboden zu schlafen. Die Vermieter sind überaus hilfsbereit und freundlich. Die Umgebung lädt zu Spaziergängen und Erkundungen ein, aber man ist auch relativ schnell in London, Brighton, Canterbury etc. Ein Pkw ist aber zwingend erforderlich. Alles in allem ist Hampton Farm absolut zu empfehlen! Wir kommen sicherlich wieder!

Home from Home

★★★★★
5 5 1
“Home from Home” very comfortable and well equipped cottage with every thought given as to furnishing and equipment, including a well equipped kitchen, Freeview TV, DVD and WiFi. Very comfortable beds and everything was very clean and tidy. The location is excellent, set in lovely countryside with plenty of scope for walks, a pub and village shop are close by. The area offers a very good range of things to do and places to visit. It is also a short drive to many tourist attractions, large stores and a major highway. Tonbridge also has great Rail connection to London. The owners are very friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to make your stay as memorable as can be. When you arrive there is a welcome pack that will allow you to settle in. All in all one of the best rental places we have ever stayed in and a guaranteed stress-buster.

“Perfekte Kombination: auf dem Lande und in der Nähe Londons”

★★★★★
5 5 1
Wir haben mit unseren 3 Kindern (11-16) eine wunderbare Woche im Stable Cottage verbracht. Der Standort ist perfekt, um die ländliche Ruhe im Garten Englands zu genießen und Ausflüge nach London, Leeds Castle oder auch nach Canterbury zu machen. Stable Cottage liegt in wunderschöner Umgebung. Der parkähnliche riesige Garten mit den vielen Möglichkeiten von Tennis bis Trampolin und die Aussicht über die hügelige Landschaft haben uns begeistert.\r\nDie Unterkunft ist gemütlich und praktisch eingerichtet und die Küche sehr gut und komplett ausgestattet. Andrew und Katie sind sehr gastfreundliche Vermieter und hatten zu Ausflügen oder Pubs so einige Tipps für uns, die wir gerne genutzt haben. - Leider noch nicht alle, so dass wir gerne wiederkommen würden, wenn sich die Gelegenheit bietet.

“Wunderbar!”

★★★★★
5 5 1
Wir waren mit drei Kindern (9,12,13) im Stable Cottage. Wir können es absolut empfehlen. Unsere Kinder wollten am liebsten dort bleiben. Es gab so viel zu entdecken: Baumhaus, Zip-Wire, Tennis, Kaninchen, Teich, Planwagen,...! Das Ferienhaus war sehr schön im Landhausstil eingerichtet mit einem tollen Blick in den weiten Park/Garten. Wir haben uns dort sehr wohl gefühlt und Katie und Andy haben uns herzlich willkommen geheißen. Danke für das schöne Willkommens-Paket mit den vielen leckeren Sachen drin! Unsere Bewertung: absolut empfehlenswert!\r\n

Nice place for kids (and parents also)

★★★★★
5 5 1
We\\\'ve been in Stable Cottage for two weeks and it was wonderfull! So much space and things to play with for our 4 year old son and time for us to relax. And also many things to do in other places (Leeds Castle, Legoland, Sevenoaks, Tunbridge Wells, Eating in The Snail, swimming). Time flies when you\\\'re having fun!!

One week is too short

★★★★★
5 5 1
With our three boys (aged 9-15 years) we spent a wonderful week in the picturesque Stable Cottage! \r\nRight from the start we felt happy following a really warm welcome.\r\nThe cottage has real charm and is surrounded by a very large and beautiful garden. We especially enjoyed the beautiful views, the long zip-wire, the tennis court, pool table, the chickens by our kitchen door and much more. It is truly a place where the whole family can relax. \r\nBut there is also plenty to do in the area! There are beautiful public paths, old castles (we enjoyed the medieval the tournament in Leeds Castle), gardens (eg Groombridge Garden with lots of great playgrounds for kids in the woods and a \\\"Giant Swing\\\"), as well as trips to Londong which was really very easy to reach. The beaches on the coast are also not too far – it was just an hour to get to the Seven Sisters in Eastbourne. \r\nIt would have been nice to stay longer !! \r\nMany thanks to Andy and Katie for their hospitality!\r\n

Eine Woche ist zu kurz!”

★★★★★
5 5 1
Mit unseren drei Jungs (im Alter von 9 bis 15 Jahren) haben wir eine wunderschöne Woche im malerischen Stable Cottage verbracht!\r\n\r\nNach einem wirklich herzlichen Willkommen haben wir uns von Anfang an sehr wohl gefühlt. \r\nDie Ferienwohnung hat einen ganz besonderen Charme und ist umgeben von einem sehr großen und wunderschönen Garten. Besonders genossen haben wir die schöne Aussicht, die lange Seilbahn, den Tennisplatz, den Billardtisch, die Hühner vor unserer Küchentür und vieles mehr. Es ist wirklich ein Platz, an dem die ganze Familie entspannen kann.\r\n\r\nAber auch in der Umgebung gibt es viel zu tun! Angefangen über schöne Wanderwege, alte Schlösser (z.B. Mittelalter-Turnier in Leeds-Castle), Gärten (z.B. Groombridge Garden mit vielen tollen Spielplätzen für Kinder im Wald und \\\"Riesen-Schaukeln\\\"), bis hin zu Ausflügen ins wirklich sehr leicht und schnell zu erreichende London. Auch zur Küste ist es nicht allzu weit. So waren wir in einer guten Stunde bei den Seven Sisters in Eastbourne.\r\n\r\nEs wäre schön gewesen länger bleiben zu können!!\r\n\r\nHerzlichen Dank an Andie und Katie für Eure Gastfreundschaft!

Brilliant Family Holiday

★★★★★
5 5 1
We stayed a stable cottage, the cottage was cosy and welcoming with lovely towels, bedding, beautiful cushions and throws. There was plenty of room for a family of five, the children loved the novelty of sleeping in the hay loft. The facilities were great including a dishwasher and use of washing machine and tumble dryer.\r\n\r\nThe grounds are amazing, plenty for children of a wide age range with sand pits and tea sets for younger children and the zip wire, trapeze and tree house for older ones. Lots of opportunity for family fun with tennis, table tennis and the boats on the ponds. There are plenty of seating areas and fabulous views.\r\n\r\nThe owners Katie and Andy were very friendly and approachable, great customer service.\r\n\r\nWe spent most of the holiday enjoying the surroundings and facilities but we also enjoyed a day out at Penhurst Place which had a great adventure playground, maze and toy museum as well as house and gardens.\r\n\r\nFor rainy days we did a trip to bluewater shopping centre and went to adventure kidz soft play in Aylesford which had a high ropes course as well as huge soft play.\r\n\r\nWe would love to go back and I would definitely recommend it for a lovely relaxing holiday in a rural setting but very near to numerous national trust and other attractions.\r\n

It does what it says on the can...

★★★★★
5 5 1
This cottage ticks all the boxes on its listing - beautiful both inside and out, rural but easily accessible by road, child-friendly (for our 14 month old grandson right through to our twenty-something daughters and friends who played croquet,ping pong and tennis, paddled on the pond and enjoyed some of the robust play equipment), a peaceful retreat (it\\\'s hard to do anything but feel you\\\'re on holiday here) and close enough to pop up to London by train from nearby stations or explore the local area. The cottage is kept clean and sparkling by an efficient team; the owners and all who work here make you feel you are part of the family without being intrusive and are quick to fix any \\\'snags\\\' or provide you with anything you feel isn\\\'t available in the cottage; even the resident wildlife is friendly (keep the stable door shut or Cinderella the hen may try to join you indoors). The house is well appointed and the grounds full of toys and activities suitable for children of all ages, yet there\\\'s space to find a haven for those who like a bit of peace and quiet. While listed as a child friendly holiday venue, the cottages have also been used for longer term lets - we\\\'ve been here for nearly 6 months. The recent addition of a utility room with washing machine, dryer and extra freezer space has been a boon. When the weather has been fine (and even when it hasn\\\'t) we\\\'ve enjoyed walks across fields and down country lanes (the footpaths are well-marked) to some great pubs ( we love the Swan at West Peckham) or the Thursday morning farmers\\\' market in Shipbourne...or to simply enjoy the view of the Kent countryside and revel in the bluebell woods. Not many down sides here - except for the internet and mobile signals being rather weak, but that may be a good thing when you\\\'re on holiday! Come and stay here! We\\\'re coming again....and so are our \\\'big kids\\\'.

Really, really lovely

★★★★★
5 5 1
I am between houses and Stable Cottage is a perfect place of transition. It is rural with stunning countryside views, yet close to Tonbridge. Lovely walks, table tennis, croquet, tennis courts, bbq - my grown up children love it too. Pin drop quiet. The actual cottage is kept spotless, the kitchen/family room is delightful, sunny, sweet ... it just has \\\"it\\\" if you know what i mean. Would def. come again. \r\n\r\nJenny June 2014

Wonderful Place to Stay

★★★★★
5 5 1
Thank you for a wonderful place to stay. From the warm welcome, provisions pack and cosy atmosphere of Stable cottage our holiday was a joy from the start. \r\n\r\nThe cottage was a base to visit relatives in the area and a lovely retreat in the winter evenings and waking up for breakfast. \r\n\r\nLots of places inside and outside of the cottage for our 5 year old son to explore - great place!

Wonderful Place

★★★★★
5 5 1
Thank you for a wonderful place to stay from the warm welcome, provisions pack and cosy atmosphere of Stable Cottage our holiday was a joy from the start.\r\n\r\nThe cottage was a base to visit relatives in the area and a lovely retreat in the winter evenings and for waking up for breakfast.\r\n\r\nLots of places inside and outside of the cottage for our 5 yr old son to explore – great place!\r\n

Child friendly holidays that live up to their title

★★★★★
5 5 1
We just got back from our wonderful stay at stable cottage. Andy and Katie\\\'s \\\'child friendly\\\' cottage holidays definitely live up to their name as our 17 month old daughter absolutely loved her time at the cottage. Everything from the layout and cleanliness of the cottage, through to the beautiful grounds with sheep, rabbits and horses, was child friendly but also adult friendly too. We enjoyed the local area too even in off-peak season, visiting the local Hop Farm where there are animals to see and a lovely cafe providing local, organic, tasty food. We also visited Knole Park, a beautiful National Trust house and gardens. We do recommend visiting in off-peak season as the warm, cosy cottage and colourful leaves can be really appreciated at this time of year. Given our enjoyment of the cottage in winter, we can only imagine how much fun it would be during the summer months with all the facilities on the grounds and a fun family atmosphere. Andy, Katie and the family are wonderful hosts who made sure we had everything we needed, including a babysitter for one evening, and we would not hesitate to return for another holiday if we have the opportunity.

Charming Cottage

★★★★★
5 5 1
We came as treat to the theme Parks at Thorpe Park for two teenage before exams so we wanted somewhere to relax and be comfortable. The Cottage was ideal for us, out of the way of the big city and close enough to pop out for walks or shopping trips into nearby Royal Tunbridge Wells. Our week was that of the expected high winds, so plans changed but the weather was kind to us. Sunny enough for a 10k local loop walk, taking in the Estate and a few villages, with very nice local pubs. Both Katie and Andrew Tanswell (owners) we very kind and friendly and glad to help with anything we needed, local tips and comprehensive folder of info. Kitchen well stocked with everything we needed, all was clean and tidy and the beds were very comfy. Bathroom could have had stronger shower, but that may have been the water pressure, plenty of clean towels Had a great meal at he Kentish Rifleman in nearby Dunks Green, followed by another evening of banter with the locals and the Landlord. We found The Swan on the Green closed on the Monday, that we would have liked to visit. Overall a very pleasant stay and would recommend you visit.\r\n

Lovely Cottage

★★★★★
5 5 1
Lovely Cottage, beautiful views and fantastic hosts. We would recommend here every time. Thank you for letting us stay..

Perfect

★★★★★
5 5 1
We have thoroughly enjoyed our week here. Stable Cottage is perfect, in beautiful surroundings. Thank you Katie and Andy for a wonderful stay.\r\n

Splendid Time

★★★★★
5 5 1
What a magnificent house you have in a lovely area. We had a splendid time at Hamptons Farmhouse. Merci.\r\n\r\nBretillot family from Chanterne near Paris. Oct-Nov 2013

We will be coming back for more!

★★★★★
5 5 1
We have spent a few weekends at Hamptons Farmhouse and will be coming back for more! There are many things we love about staying here. It\\\'s very easy to travel from the cottages to all sorts of tourist attractions, but we tended to spend most of our time viewing the scenery and relishing the peace and quiet - broken up by a brisk walk and a tasty pub lunch, of course! We live outside of London and we relish having so much space around us - something that\\\'s great for our teenage daughter too. She really comes to life running around all of the different spaces and enjoying all of the activities and equipment on offer; as parents we really value being able to give her the freedom to explore while knowing she\\\'s safe.\r\nWhat distinguishes this holiday property most of all, I think, is the warmth and friendliness of the welcome we receive. Katie and Andy and their three children all genuinely enjoy having visitors -not something we\\\'ve found at every holiday house, that\\\'s for sure - and it shows. We\\\'ll never forget the enthusiasm and friendliness shown by Jessica and Elodie when inviting our daughter to feed the chickens and hold the rabbits. It really does feel like a home away from home, and a very special place indeed.\r\n\r\nChristine and Mark \r\n

Stable Cottage is BEAUTIFUL!

★★★★★
5 5 1
This place is AMAZING! There’s a very special peace about the place, and Andy and Katie & family are so relaxed and kind. We felt immediately at home and free to roam when we arrived. The cottage is perfect – comfy, warm and so pretty! We wake up to the sound of birdsong, and the view of a horse and her foal through the willow tree... Our children are tickled pink. They love all the different animals, and just being free to roam and explore. There’s always something for them to do outside, from collecting eggs to trampolining to zooming on the zip wire. They also love having a ladder to get to their bedroom! We’re staying in the cottage for a few months while we have building works, and it feels like we’re on holiday all the time. THANK YOU ANDY & KATIE & the family (James & Annie, Minnie, Jago & Bea Gale)

Write a review of Rose Barn
Fill in our special form and tell us about your holiday.
rose Overall rating: ★★★★★ 4.9 based on 15 reviews
5 1

What a stunning property!

★★★★★
5 5 1
What a stunning property! We rented both Rose barn and Hope cottage for a family stay with grandparents in May, and we're delighted with everything. This is a perfect property for parents looking for a touch of luxury in a stunning location. Blissfully quiet, and private, we were able to relax and enjoy some lovely warm weather. Very kiddy friendly, everything has been thought of, and the owners were very helpful before and during our stay.

Fantastic accommodation in beautiful surroundings

★★★★★
5 5 1
The accommodation was first class. Literally everything has been thought of and there was nothing we needed that wasn\\\'t there. The cottage was bright and beautifully decorated. The kitchen was well equipped. The lounge area was perfect for comfortable evenings in. There is even English TV! The pool area is very well thought out with plenty of seating and toys for the children. The kids loved the trampoline and swings and being able to ride their bikes around the vast garden space. We really enjoyed a bike ride from Daglan to Chateaunaud, it was flat so very easy to cycle and beautiful scenery all through the corn fields. We had an excellent week and will definitely be going back!

I would highly recommend this property to all friends and relatives

★★★★★
5 5 1
Rose Barn is an absolutely stunning property with a gorgeous pool and fantastic outdoor area. It is situated in a stunning part of the Dordogne with some beautiful towns nearby. \r\n\r\nThe property is so very well equipped for children. From toys and equipment inside the property to inflatables around the pool. We have never stayed anywhere that catered so well. \r\n\r\nThe kitchen is very well equipped and the bedrooms beautifully furnished. \r\n\r\nI would highly recommend this property to all friends and relatives

Rose Barn is a quiet haven – great for families

★★★★★
5 5 1
\r\nThe living space is light, airy, homely and really well equipped. A kitchen with everything you need, a large dining table when you want to eat inside and a large table outside (where we ate mostly). Sofas are comfortable and a TV with UK channels (if you have time to sit and watch them).\r\n\r\nUpstairs is wooden floors and tranquil – all the bedrooms are well fitted out and fans in each of them (needed in the summer). A decent sized and well appointed bathroom, with a great separate shower and bath (and plenty of hot water). Linen, towels and everything was of good quality and made us feel very much at home. \r\n\r\nThe outside is a great space for kids to play (safely) and for adults to chill. The pool is perfect with a huge number of inflatables and toys for children (and adults so inclined).\r\n\r\nSaint Pompont is an attractive small village with the everyday basics you’ll need and easy access to the what the rest of the Dordogne and Lot have to offer.\r\n

Stayed 28 June to 5 July 2014

★★★★☆
4 5 1
Really lovely converted barn in a very peaceful area.\r\n\r\nMy three teenage children and one friend had a great time in the pool, on the trampoline and playing mini football and cricket. \r\n\r\nThe very large garden is shared with the guests at the adjoining Hope cottage.\r\n\r\nFor those interested in early human culture, the cave paintings of the Dordogne valley are a 40 minute drive away.\r\n\r\n\r\n\r\n

Amazing Holiday

★★★★★
5 5 1
We have had a wonderful stay at Rose Barn with our 3 year old and 16 month old - our first holiday with our children. The house is beautiful and equipped with everything you need for a family holiday with young children. We spent our mornings visiting local markets, afternoons relaxing back at the house, and evenings eating al fresco on the terrace. The garden and pool are fabulous, with so much space for the children to roam safely, and lots of play equipment for them. Katie and Andy (and their local team) could not have been more helpful both in the planning of, and during, our stay. We can highly recommend the personal chef service - a delicious and very welcome meal on our arrival. We have had a truly memorable holiday and hope to return again!

Everything has been thought of

★★★★★
5 5 1
Very pleasant stay! \r\nChildren loved it.\r\nVery lovely village.\r\nI would recommend the region.\r\nThe children loved the swimming pool and all the toys!!\r\nEverything has been thought of.\r\n\r\nJune 2014

Everything has been thought of

★★★★★
5 5 1
Very pleasant stay! \r\nChildren loved it.\r\nVery lovely village.\r\nI would recommend the region.\r\nThe children loved the swimming pool and all the toys!!\r\nEverything has been thought of.\r\n\r\nJune 2014

We will miss Sol du Mazel

★★★★★
5 5 1
If you can tear yourself away from Sol du Mazel there are castle such as Castlenaud to explore or the markets of St Cyprien and Sarlat. Domme is a pretty town with some fantastic views.\r\n\r\nThe welcoming bottle of wine was very much appreciated - thank you. The management are to be congratulated as the cottage looked amazing on our arrival. We will miss the peace and tranquility, peppered with children\\\'s laughter, and glimpses of deer at dusk but most of all relaxing on the terrace after a refreshing swim with a glass of wine!

Een echte aanrader

★★★★★
5 5 1
Wat een heerlijk huis is dit. Een echte aanrader. Ruim, nieuw, licht en van alle gemakken voorzien. Ook veel aandacht voor kinderen: veel speelgoed, kleine tafel en stoeltjes buiten, een omheid en verwarmd zwembad - met ook daar veel speelgoed, een enorme trampoline, een leuk speelhuisje.. Dingen die het extra aangenaam maken: de enorme tuin waar zelfs hertjes doorheen liepen \\\'s avonds, de privacy (er loopt een weggetje achterlangs, maar daar komt maar heel weinig verkeer langs), hangmatten bij het zwembad, een zeer volledig ingerichte keuken, onverwacht goede wifi en goede bedden. Het zijn eigenlijk 2 huizen onder 1 kap, in een prachtig verbouwde schuur. Je hebt genoeg privacy als je allebei buiten zit, omdat het terras aan de andere kant van het huis ligt. Wij hadden de 2e week een Engels stel naast ons, in het aangrenzende huisje. Leuke mensen, die we alleen bij het zwembad zagen. Je kunt het slechter treffen. Daarom ideaal voor bijvoorbeeld 2 gezinnen die samen op vakantie gaan. De eigenaren zaten in Engeland tijdens ons verblijf, maar Bernard, die iets verderop woont en het zwembad meerdere keren per week komt controleren, was zeer behulpzaam. En vragen via de mail werden snel door Kathy beantwoord. Je kunt via een klein weggetje naar het dorp toelopen. Daar is een bakkertje en een kleine winkel waar je de basisbenodigdheden kunt kopen. Voor de grotere supermarkten moet je een kwartier rijden. Ga in het dorp zeker eens eten bij L\\\'envie des Mets. Heerlijk eten en fantastisch aardige dames in de bediening. Tip: ga voor de lunch, dan krijg je hetzelfde menu als \\\'s avonds, maar dan voor de helft van de prijs. Klein minpuntje: geen toilet bij het zwembad, waardoor je terug naar het huis moet lopen. En daar is enkel een wc op de 1e verdieping. Is wat onhandig met 4 kleine kindjes. Al met al een fantastisch huis dat we zeer aanraden.

Highly Recommended

★★★★★
5 5 1
What a lovely house this is. Highly recommended . Spacious, new, light and fully equipped . A lot of attention paid to needs of children : many toys , small table and chairs outside , a heated pool and sun shelter - also with a lot of toys , a huge trampoline , a playhouse fun .. The \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'extras\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\' make it particularly pleasing : the huge garden where even deer walked through in the evening , privacy ( there is a road behind , but there is very little traffic along ) , hammocks by the pool, a well equipped kitchen , unexpectedly good wifi and great beds . They are actually two houses under one roof, in a beautifully converted barn . You have enough privacy when you both sit outside , because the terrace is on the other side of the house . During our second week we had another family whom we got on with very well but this may not always be the case. Therefore, it would be ideal for two families holidaying together . The owners were in England during our stay , but Bernard , who lives just close by and checked the pool several times a week, was very helpful . Questions via email were answered by Kathy quickly . You can walk down to the village via a small road . There is a bakery and a small shop where you can buy basics. For the larger supermarkets you have to drive fifteen minutes . Certainly dine at L\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\' Envie des Mets in the village. Great food and fantastic waitressing. Tip: go for lunch , you get the same menu as in the evening , but for half the price . Small downside : no restroom at the pool , so you have to walk back to the house . And there is only one toilet on the 1st floor . This isn\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t always the easiest with 4 small children . All in all a fantastic house that we highly recommend .

Wonderfull place

★★★★★
5 5 1
Thanks for the wonderfull time at your stunning place, with great (heated!) pool

Great Holiday

★★★★★
5 5 1
Great holiday thanks, really lovely part of the world and had a great time at the gite.

Fabulous Place

★★★★★
5 5 1
We spent a week at Rose Barn with our 2 children aged 2 & 4. The gite is beautiful and very well equipped. Plenty of toys and books for the kids though we didn\\\'t spend much time indoors. The pool, trampoline, swings, slide got a lot of use. We have visited many villas in that area over the years and would definately recommend staying here.

A fabulous holiday

★★★★★
5 5 1
Rose barn is beautiful and comfortable and had everything we needed.  The kids had a great time in the pool, swings, trampoline etc. We will definitely return at some stage.\r\n\r\nMany Thanks,\r\nCaitriona.

Write a review of Hope Cottage
Fill in our special form and tell us about your holiday.
hope Overall rating: ★★★★★ 4.9 based on 12 reviews
5 1

What a stunning property!

★★★★★
5 5 1
What a stunning property! We rented both Rose barn and Hope cottage for a family stay with grandparents in May, and we're delighted with everything. This is a perfect property for parents looking for a touch of luxury in a stunning location. Blissfully quiet, and private, we were able to relax and enjoy some lovely warm weather. Very kiddy friendly, everything has been thought of, and the owners were very helpful before and during our stay.

Perfect relaxing holiday with children

★★★★★
5 5 1
We travelled with our 3 small children (aged 5, 3 and 15 months). It is a long old trek driving down to the Dordogne with small children but it was well worth the drive when we arrived! The property has been beautifully furnished and is well equipped, the children loved their bedroom with the books and toys. \r\n\r\nThe outside space is perfect for young families, with the swimming pool, trampoline, slide and sandpit we didn\\\'t need to go out at all if we didn\\\'t want to! \r\n\r\nA truly relaxing holiday, we plan to return with family/ friends in the future and rent both properties.

We loved our stay in Hope Cottage

★★★★☆
4 5 1
Myself, my husband and our eleven month old enjoyed a wonderful stay in hope cottage. It had everything we needed - lovely bedding, towels, spotless kitchen and equipment, lots of child friendly bowls and plates, oversized dog soft toys and rocking horses which our little girl loved, good BBQ and of course a veranda with sunset and a beautiful garden and pool. We explored the local area, walked down to the village for our croissants, relaxed and just generally existed. It was brilliant. The only caveat is you do probably want to take gps if you are arriving in the dark and perhaps ask for some wood and paper to be left out if you know it\\\'s going to be cold. Otherwise, enjoy! We will be back we hope...\r\n\r\nsee reviews on HomeAway - they are also great

Perfect Holiday

★★★★★
5 5 1
A lovely cottage, converted to an excellent standard in a most beautiful location. \r\n\r\nI seriously doubt you you beat Hope Cottage or Rose Barn for the perfect stay. \r\n\r\nThe children loved it and we shall always treasure our week in the Dorgogne.

A superb cottage

★★★★★
5 5 1
A superb cottage in a beautiful location with plenty of amenities for both children and adults. So much thought has been put into providing everything that young children in particular will need for a perfect holiday.\r\n\r\nKatie and Andy have done wonders to provide a \\\'home from home\\\' environment where parents and children can relax and have fun - something like this would have been wonderful for us 36 years ago!!

Relaxing straight away

★★★★★
5 5 1
We drove from the UK in one go so by the time we arrived (12 hours) later we were pretty tired. But this is the sort of place you can relax at straight away. It\\\'s a great place to go if you want to get away from it all. There is lots of space around the cottages so we took our badminton set to play during the evening whilst the barbecue was warming up. When we stayed the other cottage was unoccupied so it was very quiet. To see other people we had to go into the village where there is a restaurant and bar, but most evenings we tended to eat in and use the very well equipped kitchen. All the rooms were clean and well furnished and we had WiFi so I could keep up to date on Facebook. We drove off and left our adult children alone whilst we explored the countryside but as they could easily walk into the village they didn\\\'t miss being without a car. I think smaller children would enjoy themselves on the climbing frame and trampoline. I was tempted to have a go jumping myself but just stayed by the pool instead. Overall we found it was a good place to unwind at in comfortable surroundings

Spotless. Thanks for giving us a great first family holiday.

★★★★★
5 5 1
We\\\'re having a fabulous time and absolutely love Hope Cottage and our meadow, play area and pool. The cottage was spotless when we arrived and had everything we need for our nearly 3 year old and one year old - high chair, toys, plastic cutlery etc. It has a gorgeous french feel with beautiful furniture. There was also small items like picnic ware and good knives and pots and pans which make the holiday much nicer when cooking. The area is great with lots to do with smallies within a short distance. There are lovely markets for picking up fresh produce and foires on in different villages in the area. We would recommend it big time for families with or without toddlers.

Lots of additional nice surprises

★★★★★
5 5 1
• The Cottage is beautiful and the rooms have been decorated to a really high standard. It\\\'s really well appointed and the drawers are packed full of all the things you might want to cook / dine with as well as lots of additional nice surprises like the lolly moulds for putting in the freezer.We noticed all the great little touches and appreciated the soft toys and games that the kids loved playing with. All rooms were of a very high standard and we particularly liked the lovely tiles, fixtures and fittings in the kitchen and bathroom.\r\n• The location is stunning. Sitting by the pool listening to the cuckoos and looking down the valley over the grass meadows was heavenly. There was very little passing traffic and we loved the solitude although we never felt isolated. It\\\'s in a really convenient location - close enough but not too close to the really touristy spots along the Dordogne valley. And within walking distance of St Pompon and 5 minutes up the road from Daglan. Perfect.\r\n• The walk down the Chemin Anglais became a daily morning excursion for all the family. A beautiful walk which wasn\\\'t too far for any of us, stunning views, and very friendly locals (the French house owner at the top of the path even cut the grass on the path especially for us). Good for the soul.\r\n• My daily morning run round the road immediately outside the house was the perfect route and I\\\'d recommend it to any of your running visitors. Turn left out of the drive, run up to the top of the hill, turn left and follow the road downhill, left at the bottom and then left back up the hill to Hope Cottage. It\\\'s the perfect combination of a hill session, speedy down hill session and at 4.3 miles you can run it and be back before anyone notices you\\\'re gone. You get great views of the rolling countryside and see some beautiful wildlife (Deer, calves, red squirrels, moles!) and having run the route 5 times I didn\\\'t pass a car on a single occasion. Runners\\\' heaven.\r\n• The pool and trampoline are great. The kids could have spent all their time on these and never got bored. We liked and appreciated the shaded area and the hammocks by the pool as an alternative to being in direct sun shine.\r\n• The paperwork and info you provide are nicely done, with a personal feel too them and striking the right balance between friendly and formal.\r\n

So Many Positive Points

★★★★★
5 5 1
• The Cottage is beautiful and the rooms have been decorated to a really high standard. It\\\'s really well appointed and the drawers are packed full of all the things you might want to cook / dine with as well as lots of additional nice surprises like the lolly moulds for putting in the freezer.We noticed all the great little touches and appreciated the soft toys and games that the kids loved playing with. All rooms were of a very high standard and we particularly liked the lovely tiles, fixtures and fittings in the kitchen and bathroom.\r\n• The location is stunning. Sitting by the pool listening to the cuckoos and looking down the valley over the grass meadows was heavenly. There was very little passing traffic and we loved the solitude although we never felt isolated. It\\\'s in a really convenient location - close enough but not too close to the really touristy spots along the Dordogne valley. And within walking distance of St Pompon and 5 minutes up the road from Daglan. Perfect.\r\n• The walk down the Chemin Anglais became a daily morning excursion for all the family. A beautiful walk which wasn\\\'t too far for any of us, stunning views, and very friendly locals (the French house owner at the top of the path even cut the grass on the path especially for us). Good for the soul.\r\n• My daily morning run round the road immediately outside the house was the perfect route and I\\\'d recommend it to any of your running visitors. Turn left out of the drive, run up to the top of the hill, turn left and follow the road downhill, left at the bottom and then left back up the hill to Hope Cottage. It\\\'s the perfect combination of a hill session, speedy down hill session and at 4.3 miles you can run it and be back before anyone notices you\\\'re gone. You get great views of the rolling countryside and see some beautiful wildlife (Deer, calves, red squirrels, moles!) and having run the route 5 times I didn\\\'t pass a car on a single occasion. Runners\\\' heaven.\r\n• The pool and trampoline are great. The kids could have spent all their time on these and never got bored. We liked and appreciated the shaded area and the hammocks by the pool as an alternative to being in direct sun shine.\r\n• The paperwork and info you provide are nicely done, with a personal feel too them and striking the right balance between friendly and formal.\r\n

Tranquil and comfortable gite

★★★★★
5 5 1
I don\\\'t know if the box of PG tips was complementary but was very welcome as it was the only thing the local store didn\\\'t have. We (mature couple) stayed in the smaller cottage but it could easily accommodate another couple or children. \r\n\r\nFor us it was a very tranquil break in beautiful countryside. The kitchen area and bathroom seem to have been fitted to a high standard but there are restaurants nearby and a good one within walking distance. The WiFi was easy to connect to and I had no problem with a mobile phone signal (02).\r\n\r\nThe local butcher and boulanger speak no English but were helpful none the less. Sometimes the boulanger closes early but the cafe next door will sell the bread for her. \r\n\r\nThis is a good base to explore the area especially Monpazier and Domme. Ideally I would like to return with extended family and take both cottages so we can make better use of the large pool.

chillout

★★★★★
5 5 1
Great place to go if you want to get away from it all. There is lots of space around the cottages so we took our badminton set to play during the evening. When we stayed the other cottage was unoccupied so it was very quiet. To see other people we had to go into the village where there is a restaurant and bar but most evenings we tended to eat in and use the very well equipped kitchen. \r\nAll the rooms were clean and well furnished and we had WiFi so I could keep up to date on Facebook.\r\nI think smaller children would enjoy themselves on the climbing frame and trampoline. I was tempted to have a go jumping myself but just stayed by the pool instead.\r\nOverall we found it was a good place to unwind at in comfortable surroundings.

REALLY excellent holiday

★★★★★
5 5 1
We had a really wonderful time. This place is perfect for us with the swimming pool, climbing frame, trampoline and play areas. The grown-ups can sit under the shade of the abri and still see everything in the large garden/field. \r\n\r\nThe gite has been done up to an excellent standard and was beautifully clean and very tastefully done. There were many \\\'extras\\\' that I have not seen in other rentals like this which made our stay so much easier. We certainly had more than enough kit for our baby but there were lots of toys and games too.\r\n\r\nThe property is set in such a lovely rural area we were delighted to just stay put and play with the kids or just chill out. Though we did go on a trip to Domme (recommended) and Castlenaud (also recommended) we could happily have spent the week at Sol du Mazel and just make short walks to the village boulangerie and restaurant.\r\n\r\nThey have an English speaking team who were at hand as well as Bernarnd who is French and lives close who maintains the pool regularly. \r\n\r\nThere is a great \\\'information pack\\\' with so many activities and restaurants, places to visit and things to do, we would need a month to do them all.\r\n\r\nWe will definitely be looking to come again next year. Not only will we be recommending it to friends and family but we will probably take over Rose Barn too which is the other gite cleverly attached but not interfering with Hope Cottage.\r\n\r\n5* all around

Write a review of Little Apple Barn
Fill in our special form and tell us about your holiday.
apple Overall rating: ★★★★★ 5 based on 8 reviews
5 1

Heerlijk, relaxed en zeer kindvriendlijk

★★★★★
5 5 1
Deze voorjaarsvakantie verbleven wij met ons gezin, twee kids van 3 en 5 jaar, in de Dairy Cottage. Om het landgoed te bereiken dwaal je over prachtige, typisch Engelse, weggetjes. Eenmaal gearriveerd werden we zeer gastvrij welkom geheten door de Andy en zijn kinderen. De cottage is van alle gemakken voorzien en biedt een heerlijk verblijf. De kinderen raakten niet uitgespeeld op de vele speeltoestellen, waarvan de enorme jumpking favoriet was. Kortom: wij hebben een heerlijke vakantie gehad en volop genoten van al het moois dat Kent te bieden heeft,

I truly felt sad leaving

★★★★★
5 5 1
This must have been the first time I truly felt sad leaving a holiday destination. What a lovely place! The landscape is breath-taking, the facilities idyllic and the owners are great people. I would recommend this property to friends and family, but hope it is not fully booked next time we come. The public footpaths make for great walks (if you are slightly adventurous ) and the kids loved the trampoline, the zip-slide and boat - to mention but a few of the numerous play options available. We loved the comfortable, clean cottage, the fresh flowers and attentive welcome package, the morning arguments between wild phesants and the sunsets. Wellington boots are a must in Autumn as the grass doesn\\\'t always dry out. They are also easy for kids to slip out of when trampolining.

Superb

★★★★★
5 5 1
Superb standard of accommodation. Beautifully clean and very well equipped. We were particularly Impressed with the kitchen equipment provided. We had everything we needed, including access to washing machine and dryer in the utility room on site. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Our children loved the multitude of activities available, both outside (zip wire, trampoline, swings, pond, etc) and inside (board games, cards, dominoes). Comes highly recommended!

Delightful rural retreat

★★★★★
5 5 1
Little Apple Barn is a modern well equipped self catering cottage. It is very clean and comfortable, light and airy. It sits on the edge of the farm looking out to hedgerows, fields and woods from its windows and very private deck. It would suit a couple but there was also a put me up bed for a child. The 2 other cottages on the farm closer to the farmhouse might be more suitable for children. The site is certainly a heaven for any children up to teenage years with all the play facilities Katie and Andy have provided in a separate field and woods, close enough for supervision but far enough from the cottages for screams of delight not to be an interference with adult peace.

Lovely Cosy Cottage

★★★★★
5 5 1
We are a family of four and our boys are aged 5 and 10. We were made very welcome at out stay at Little Apple Barn. The cottage is cosy, modern and stylish with a wonderful private patio at the back. It was wonderful just to chill out and relax as you are surrounded by fields, orchards and woodland. Our children loved all the amenities there like the zip wire, climbing frames, swings, tennis court and a big trampoline. Our youngest little boy was excited to see sheep, chickens, rabbits and horses. We all loved seeing the beautiful surrounding area and went on a trip to Legoland as this was not too far away. We would definitely come back and stay again, and would recommend this property.

Simply Perfect

★★★★★
5 5 1
This is definitely one of the best places I have ever stayed in. It’s perfect for the kids as there is so much to do at Hamptons Farmhouse (In addition to Little Apple Barn (one bed but sleeps 4 with two fold away beds) they have two other properties Willow Cottage and Stable Cottage which sleeps 6). The trampoline, zip wire, tree house and tennis court was perfect for our 11 and 8 and 3 year olds but they also have toddler stuff including a sand-pit and small swings and slides.\r\n\r\nFor adults there a lovely local walks but just sitting on the decking patio watching the sunset was fabulous knowing the kids were happy and safe.\r\n\r\nThe beautiful bedding, soaps, towels as well as the welcome pack (wine, coffee, chocs and fresh stuff) was an unexpected treat. The fact we didn’t have to bring dishwasher tablets etc was nice too as this is often not supplied.\r\n\r\nWe have recommended this place to many of our friends and family.\r\n

Really Gorgeorus

★★★★★
5 5 1
Stylish property - very well equipped, underfloor heated so really cosy even with wet and cold outside. Great views as this property is situated in a very pretty part of Kent. Rooms very nicely done out to a very good standard. very pleasantly surprised by a welcome pack including milk bread jams coffee flowers and wine at no extra cost. Hosts available to answer questions but discrete and very personable. Several decent pubs a pleasant walk away serving very nice food and beers. Definitely recommend this to friends and family and hope to be here again. Ideal for travel into London

Peaceful and Quiet

★★★★★
5 5 1
We were pleasantly surprised to find such a quiet,restful and gentle farm cottage so near London in the county of Kent, with its stable climate, peaceful countryside and abundant wildlife. The old barn has been well converted into single bedroomed accomodation at ground floor level wiith all the modern furnishings and facilities associated with a flat in town. Our grandchildren who live in the nearby towns of Royal Tunbridge Wells and Sevenoaks enjoyed visiting us here for picnics, to play with the various activities available and go on walks on the marked footpaths. There are a variety of wonderful pubs and inns within a few miles where you can eat meals ranging from 5 star to simple pub lunchjes and sandwiches. An idyllic place for a rest and holiday.

Write a review of Dairy Cottage
Fill in our special form and tell us about your holiday.
dairy Overall rating: ★★★★★ 5 based on 12 reviews
5 1

Tolles cottage und Gelände für familien.Traumhaft!

★★★★★
5 5 1
Wir haben eine wunderschöne zeit hier im diary cottage. das cottage ist bestens ausgetattet und mit liebe zum detail eingerichtet! superschön. das gelände ist unbeschreiblich riesig. an jeder ecke sitzgelegenheiten und spielecken. alles darf ganz frei genutzt werden. die vermieter sind sehr hilfsbereit und äußerst freundlich mit willkommensüberraschung und blumen usw. wir werden wiederkommen! unsere 2 jungs im alter von 11 und 14 lieben es hier . es ist also nicht nur für kleine kinder. die lage ist auch perfekt (nicht weit zur fähre und auch problemlos zb. nach london zu kommen mit dem zug).

Exceptional accomodation

★★★★★
5 5 1
My family and I were very impressed with the high standard of accommodation and service we received through Child Friendly Holidays. Dairy cottage is very tastefully decorated and equipped with everything you need. The scenery is breath-taking and there are lots of fun activities for the children. The hosts Andy and Kate are also very helpful in giving advice about the area. We would not hesitate in recommending Child Friendly holidays.

The new Dairy Cottage

★★★★★
5 5 1
Just to mention the bottom line first: We had an very enjoyable stay and we were all very sad when we left. The new Dairy Cottage (conversion to a holiday home in March 2015) is one of four cottages on Hamptons Farm. It has got a combined living room/dining room/kitchen. The bedroom is separated by a door. From there, a ladder leads to the hay loft which is the children's bedroom. Behind the bedroom there is the beautiful bathroom, equipped with a shower, a bathtub, and a toilet. The cottage is not very large, but it is absolutely sufficient; it offers enough room for the guests and their baggage. The cottage is very light and shows an adequate furniture with charming details. The equipment really leaves nothing to be desired. There are these little things that make you feel welcome immediately: In addition to the large welcome package there were flowers on the table, for example. In front of the entrance door there is a small yard surrounded by three of the four cottages. The windows on the opposite side are directed to the wide play area, so that the children can be observed from inside the cottage quite well. The area belonging to Hamptons Farm is huge. Our children had a lot of fun with the animals, in particular the rabbits were fascinating. There was a lot to play with and to discover on Hamptons Farm, e.g. zip wire, tree house, tennis court, trampoline, pedal car. In the evenings, a camp fire next to the gypsy caravan was great fun. Hamptons Farm is embedded in the beautiful landscape of Kent with its gentle hills. It is a great starting point for explorations. London is not far away, and it takes about half an hour to beautiful gardens, castles, country houses, villages/towns, e.g. Royal Tunbridge Wells, Chilham, Canterbury. Even to the coast it is only a one hour drive; there are some lovely beaches (worth visiting: Botany Bay). We liked the cottage and the farm very much. There was a calm and peaceful atmosphere; extremely relaxing. Katie and Andy were always very kind and helpful. We love to come back!

The ideal holiday.

★★★★★
5 5 1
I have family who live in the area and I wanted somewhere to stay close by so my grandsons (both under 9yrs) could come and stay with me. It worked out fabulously well. They loved the place - so much space and things to do and explore. Between the zip-wire, playing tennis and being with the baby rabbits it was perfect for the boys. We certainly enjoyed and used all the wonderful facilities offered. Throughout the property are lots of resting areas tucked away with seats or benches. The gardens around the main house were beautiful. Every effort has been made to ensure the environment is safe for children. The cottage was extremely well appointed and very tastefully kitted out with everything you needed. Very comfortable with plenty of space. The loft where the boys slept was great and they both enjoyed that very much. It added to the adventure of staying here. The area is close to many attractions and lots of suggestions and instructions were available. The owners, Andy and Katie, were friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this as a perfect family holiday situation.

Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings

★★★★★
5 5 1
We enjoyed our stay in Dairy cottage very much. It is ideal for a family with two children. The children liked their bedroom (hay loft) a lot! Also felt safe as our bed was underneath so they could easily see us. The cottage is very new with all latest amenities, yet it has the charm of a countryside cottage. You can feel that the owners love kids as they made the surroundings so much fun for kids. We had a great stay, thanks Andy & Katie!

Flott opphold i fin cottage i Kent

★★★★★
5 5 1
Vi har også tidligere leid feriehus på den engelske landsbygda, men ikke bodd så godt som hos Andrew og Katie på Hamptons Farmhouse i Kent. Vi har bodd i en helt nyoppusset cottage på tunet, med tennisbane 20 meter unna, og en enorm hage for barn å leke i. Det er også dyr her, særlig hestene har vakt stor begeistring hos barna våre. Vertskapet her er veldig hyggelige, og hjelper med det du måtte trenge. Området rundt er slik folk flest forestiller seg den engelske landsbygda, veldig vakkert. London er 4 mil unna, og andre severdigheter som f.eks Leeds Castle, og mange fine byer er heller ikke langt unna - Canterbury, Brighton etc. Vi kan trygt anbefale en uke eller to her.

Uitstekend verblijf (herfstvakantie)

★★★★★
5 5 1
Deze herfstvakantie het "Dairy Cottage" gehuurd in Kent. Uitstekende faciliteiten voor onze kinderen, op het hele terrein zijn veel faciliteiten voor hen zoals boomhutten, tafeltennis, paarden, konijnen, schommels en zelfs een tennisbaan. Het huisje is zeer comfortabel ingericht, de kinderen slapen op een entresol wat erg gezellig is. Er is een luxe badkamer en keuken. Katie en Andy leveren een welkomst pakket en een goede info map over de omgeving. Het cottage is een goede locatie voor veel attracties in de buurt. Wij zijn ook een dagje naar London geweest. Tip: neem niet de trein maar parkeer bij de O2 Arena. (40 min).

Fantastic holiday

★★★★★
5 5 1
This was our second holiday here and we enjoyed it even more than last year. The kids had campfires, the zip wire, treehouse, baby rabbits and the rowing boats to enjoy (as did we!). The cottage is nicely furnished with stunning views past the chickens sunbathing on the doorstep, past the willow tree and onto the rolling Kentish countryside. The family who live here are extremely welcoming and friendly. Fantastic!

Exceptional Accommodation and service

★★★★★
5 5 1
My family and I have rented a cottage at the Hamptons Farmhouse for the past month. We have been very impressed with the high level of accommodation and the friendly service. The cottage is also set in the most breath-taking scenery with lots of fun activities for the kids. We would not hesitate to recommend Child Friendly Holidays. Our hosts Andy and Katie have been very helpful when needing advice about the area as well. Dairy cottage is definitely worthy of a five star rating.

Lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings/heaven for kids

★★★★★
5 5 1
Dairy cottage is a new cottage with all latest amenities, yet it has a charm of a country side cottage. It is fun for children as they can sleep in a hay loft! You can feel that the owners love kids as they made the surroundings a true adventure for children. So much to see and discover. We loved our stay very much. Thank you Andy & Katie!

Superschönes Cottage mit grandiosem Aussengelände für Familien

★★★★★
5 5 1
Wir haben eine traumhafte zeit hier im diary cottage. die häuser sind bestens ausgestattet umd mit liebe zum detail eingerichtet. die vermieter sind sehr nett und hilfsbereit. es gibt in grandioses aussengelände mit ungalublich vielen sitzgelegenheiten und noch mehr spielmöglichkeiten für kinder. das gelände ist einfach unbeschreiblich schön und die lage perfekt zum beispiel für einen ausflug nach london. unsere jungs im alter von11 und 14 konnten sich jederzeit beschäftigen. die zeit war viel zu kurz. wir würden jederzeit wiederkommen!

Herfst in Kent

★★★★★
5 5 1
Deze herfstvakantie het "Dairy Cottage" gehuurd in Kent. Uitstekende faciliteiten voor onze kinderen, op het hele terrein zijn veel faciliteiten voor hen zoals boomhutten, tafeltennis, paarden, konijnen, schommels en zelfs een tennisbaan. Het huisje is zeer comfortabel ingericht, de kinderen slapen op een entresol wat erg gezellig is. Er is een luxe badkamer en keuken. Katie en Andy leveren een welkomst pakket en een goede info map over de omgeving. Het cottage is een goede locatie voor veel attracties in de buurt. Wij zijn ook een dagje naar London geweest. Tip: neem niet de trein maar parkeer bij de O2 Arena. (40 min).